Information about Estonia

Capital: Tallinn
Area: 45 227 km² (the Tartu Peace Treaty of 1920 defined 47 549 km²)
Population: 1 315 635 (Statistics Estonia, January 1, 2017)
Coastline: 3794 km
Land borders: 343,0 km with Latvia and 338,6 km with the Russian Federation
Distance from Tallinn to Helsinki 85 km; to Riga 307 km; to St.Petersburg 395 km; to Stockholm 405 km.
Type of Governement: Parliamentary democracy
Head of State: President Kersti Kaljulaid
Head of Government: Prime Minister Jüri Ratas
Legislature: unicameral Riigikogu 
High court: Supreme Court
Suffrage: Universal for citizens who have attained 18 years of age for national elections. All legal residents, regardless of citizenship, who have attained 18 years of age can vote in local elections
Administrative regions: 15 counties
Official language: Estonian
Currency: Euro

The Republic of Estonia is divided into 15 counties, 15 towns and 64 rural municipalities. Each municipality is a unit of self-government with its representative and executive bodies. The municipalities in Estonia cover the entire territory of the country.